I committed things like usernames to a repo that I have since removed in later commits. Is there some way people could check the repo’s history to see those excised out usernames? How do I fix this?

I took out some usernames that I used to have. I don't want people to be able to see those usernames so I removed them from my project files and committed, but I just realized can't people see the old commits or the one where I literally deleted the lines that had their usernames, and then know them?? How can I actually erase all instances of their names?

submitted by /u/perceivedpleasure
[link] [comments]

Read more here: https://www.reddit.com/r/github/comments/natsky/i_committed_things_like_usernames_to_a_repo_that/

Content Attribution

This content was originally published by /u/perceivedpleasure at Github: social coding, and is syndicated here via their RSS feed. You can read the original post over there.

%d bloggers like this: